[WOW Korea] Attractions in Gangwondo on Korea’s East Coast

I’ve introduced Gangwondo a few times on my blog, but I do think that it’s the most accessible place to travel to from Seoul and there are so many beautiful mountains and the sea that I really like Gangwondo very much too! So today I will be introducing 2 places in Gangwondo, and I’m selecting beaches since I’m quite missing the summer ㅠㅠ (kidding) but no really, I think these two places are really worth visiting ^-^

Jeongdongjin Sunrise Park, Gangneung

If you have watched “Reply 1994,” you might remember this scene where Yoonjin and Samcheonpo finally get together while watching the New Year’s sunrise:

Probably one of the few romantic moment of this couple that always quarrels ㅋㅋ Source: Newsen

Probably one of the few romantic moment of this couple that always quarrels ㅋㅋ Source: Newsen

Well you don’t have to go all the way to Samcheonpo’s hometown to see it, because you can experience it right at Jeongdongjin Beach in Gangneung! (That’s why it’s called sunrise beach ㅋㅋ) Facing the East Sea, the beautiful sunrise against the view of the sea makes this a hotspot among Koreans too. It is one of the most popular places to view the New Year’s sunrise, which signifies “a turn in the hourglass.”

1769169_image2_1

Sunrise at Jeongdongjin Sunrise Park. Source: Visit Korea

205823_image2_1

The beautiful pine trees give quite a different feeling too ! Source: Visit Korea

How to get there:

1. Bus

From Express Bus Terminal, you can take a bus to Gangneung. It costs W14,600 and takes 2 hours 40 minutes.

At Gangneung Intercity Bus Terminal, take bus 109 or 112 then get off at Jeongdongjin Railway Station.

2. Train

You can choose to take the train all the way from Cheongryangni to Jeongdongjin station. It takes 5 hours 40 minutes by Mugunghwa train and costs W20,200.

Sokcho Beach, Sokcho

The beautiful Sokcho beach in Gangwondo. Source: Visit Korea

The beautiful Sokcho beach in Gangwondo. Source: Visit Korea

Sokcho Beach is probably one of the most famous beaches in Korea coming after Haeundae and Gwanganlli in Busan. It is well know for its clear water, white sand and the pine fores, and is a popular destination for weekend trips. Although there are many beautiful beaches along the east coast of Korea, what makes Sokcho beach stand out is also its proximity to other attractions such as the famous Seoraksan (check out my post on Seokraksan here), Cheoksan Hot Springs, etc. If you’re planning a weekend trip outside of Seoul, why not consider Sokcho?

Source: Visit Korea

A beautiful photograph ^-^ Source: Visit Korea

Man I wish it's summer again! Source: Agoda

Man I wish it’s summer again! Source: Agoda

How to get here:

1. From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal (Gangbyeon Station of Seoul Subway Line No.2, Exit 4) take a bus bound for Sokcho. It takes about 2.5 hours and costs W17,200.

2. From Express Bus Terminal (subway line 3 or 7, Express Bus Terminal Station), take a bus to Sokcho. It takes about 2.5 hours and costs W18,100.

I’m quite sorry for not replying your emails because I’m really just in a crazy busy state these days. Just as you guys are busy with your applications to universities, I just submitted 2 applications for graduate school too, plus it’s finals week here so my schedule is all in a mess. I think I will be able to reply all of you by next week, but in the meantime if you have questions you can either look through my posts (some of them are in the posts) or perhaps look under “Useful Links” and you might be able to find something (: Hope that my posts have been useful in some ways so far!

Leave a comment