Yonsei University

Finally, the post I should have done up loooooong ago, the post about my school!

I shall not talk about all those history and how it was founded etc. Cos it can all be found on Wikipedia (:

Yonsei University is ranked #3 in the Joongang Ilbo Korean Universities Rankings 2012, after KAIST and POSTEC, overtaking Seoul National University. It is the best private university in Korea. It is ranked #114 in QS world ranking for the year 2013/14, and #16 in QS Asia ranking for the year 2013 .

Now that we’re done with the technical parts, I’ll move on to my own experience in Yonsei University and things you should know if you want to enter.

Firstly, I will talk about UIC – Underwood International College. It’s a 4-year liberal arts college in Yonsei. Classes are conducted in English (so no worries for non-Korean speakers), and while international students are the minority (my batch had about 30+ international students out of about 200 students in total) there is great diversity here. We have people mostly from Vietnam, China and the United States, but we also have students from France, Uzbekistan, Belgium, Poland, Iran, South Africa, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore (me!! hehe) just to name a few from my batch. Senior batches have great diversity too. The Korean students are mostly those who have lived overseas for a period of time, whether they grew up overseas (I’ve met one who grew up in Kenya) or their parents sent them to the States for a year or two to improve their English (apparently this is really common here). So don’t worry about the language part, cos everyone in UIC speaks English (:

Professors here are also a mix of nationalities, of course we have the Korean professors (most of them have graduated from US universities, I’ve had professors from Cornell and other Ivies) and also professors from the States, UK, and even India and Denmark. UIC faculty all speak perfect English, so don’t worry about not being able to understand Korean-accented English.

There are courses like Critical Reasoning and World Literature that you have to fulfill for graduation requirements (more details on courses in common curriculum can be found on the UIC website). Yonsei students also have to take 4 semesters of Chapel and fulfill a 3-credit course on Understanding Christianity. This is because the university was founded by a Christian missionary, so the school keeps the tradition. However, don’t worry if you’re not a Christian, cos I’m not one as well. You can just sit and do work in Chapel, or sometimes listen to the talks that may or may not be related to Christianity. As for understanding Christianity, I took a class on Modern World and Christianity, which isn’t preaching about Christianity or anything but rather, world issues and ethical issues with Christianity featuring just a little in it.

However, you have to understand that studying in Korea (or even UIC) isn’t all a bed of roses. If you take classes that are not taught by UIC faculty, you might have to deal with Korean-accented English that you may have difficulties understanding. Moreover, if classes are not UIC exclusive, you might be faced with language problems. I had a class that wasn’t UIC exclusive, and for groupwork the Professor put one international student in each group. The group spoke in Korean and I couldn’t take part in the discussion at all, it was really bad ): But being an international student, you have to be prepared for such instances and try to either overcome them or live with it.

Yonsei International Campus (YIC)

I’m sure many people have questions about this place. Being part of the first (or rather second batch since I came in Fall) batch of students who were sent to the new campus in Songdo, Incheon, I believe I am pretty much an expert with regard to this place.

This campus was opened in Spring 2011, and freshman from UIC, pre-med, pre-dental, Open Major were the first students to be sent here. Songdo is a reclaimed land down the south of Incheon, 1 hour away from Seoul by car and about 20-30mins away from Incheon International airport by car. Being a new town, there was nothing here initially (by nothing, I really mean nothing, not even the subway station) when the students came in Spring 2011. However, I will now talk about the situation here in Spring 2012, after a year of improvements.

First, we have a subway station called Campus Town station. It’s about 500m walk from the school buildings. There are shuttle buses that run to Sinchon campus (though the frequency could be improved), and shuttle bus that runs to the Police Coast Guard (otherwise known as downtown) every hour during the weekdays. There is a bus right outside school you can take to downtown Songdo as well. There are also buses running from Campus Town station to Sinchon and Gangnam. There is an E-mart just 2 subway stations away at Dongchun, and many people go to Incheon Bus Terminal or Bupyeong to play during the weekends. Downtown Songdo also has many eateries and shops, and also a supermarket. Although we are far from Seoul, we do have basic necessities that are easily available. There is a Woori bank in school and also Family Mart, Cafe Pascucci, a bookstore, laundry room, student kitchen, cafeteria and Docufriends, a place to print your documents. So most of the amenities that a student require are pretty much all here.

The campus has taken in more students this semester compared to last semester, opening up to more majors such as Asian Studies Division (under UIC) and Techno Art Division (also under UIC). It has become livelier compared to last semester. However, there are still some shortcomings you need to be aware of when you are here.

Firstly, as an international student, it is difficult to communicate with the people at the housing office and the bank and the maintenance office here on campus because they don’t speak English. The only place that speaks English is the Administration Office. And only one of the security guards know English. So if you don’t know Korean, you need to get help from your Korean friends. However, all these are all slowly improving (definitely an improvement from last semester), and professors in charge of international students are always willing to help and are always checking up on us frequently to ensure that we are doing fine.

The campus is also still under construction, so there could be noise coming from the construction sites. However, it’s said that the second phase of the campus will be ready in 2013, so it’ll have more school buildings (compared to the 3 we have now) and more dormitory buildings.

2 of the school buildings at YIC (Science & Engineering building and Humanities & Social Sciences building)

Dusk at Songdo, with the school dormitory and the construction near it

The red building on the right is the school dormitory ^^

The library (foreground) and the Science & Engineering building (:

YIC covered in snow!!! :DD

Did I mention that we’re near the sea? 😀 And there’s a skybridge linking the dormitory buildings (:

The second phase of construction was already completed in early 2013, and now all Yonsei freshmen have to go to YIC for their first semester. The campus now has more amenities (including a mobile phone shop and even a travel agency) and there are now even more people on campus. With the crowd, more services are now available, such as increase of public buses between the campus and Seoul (there used to be only 2 in my time, but now there are 3 or 4 such bus routes). Taxi drivers also now know where the campus is. There is also a new mall (Square 1) that is also 2 subway stops away at Dongchun Station, across from Emart.

The Sinchon campus is obviously much bigger than YIC, and in Fall it’s really pretty cos the entire main path will be covered with yellow leaves. It’s incredible ^^

The Sinchon campus is located very strategically in the heart of Seoul, with Ewha Women’s University (Edae) just beside it. There is an entire shopping street in Sinchon and Edae, and it’s also near the subway (Sinchon station, Line 2). There are many hasukjibs (one rooms where you live with many other students and the landlady ahjumma provides breakfast and dinner) around the area since there are many universities in the vicinity (Yonsei, Edae, Sogang, even Hongdae as well). Sinchon is also one subway station away from Hongik University (Hongdae), an art street as well as a shopping paradise. There are many pubs and clubs and sometimes bands singing on the streets of Hongdae. I’ve also seen people filming on the streets of Hongdae (though the guy is unknown, he’s pretty hot keke. Maybe the next idol group or smth LOL). Sinchon is also near Seoul station and about 20mins away from Myeongdong, so it’s a really good location (in my opinion, since I’m looking at the shopping keke).

Maybe I will do a more detailed post about Sinchon campus after moving there next semester ^^

For more information:

Yonsei Website: http://www.yonsei.ac.kr/eng/

UIC Website: http://uic.yonsei.ac.kr/

59 thoughts on “Yonsei University

  1. Tiff says:

    Will you be based in the YIC campus for the whole 4 years or you will eventually move to the Sinchon campus? 🙂

    • studyinkorea says:

      It depends on your major.. For Underwood Division you only have to stay in YIC in your freshman year for one year.. For other divisions like Asian Studies and TechnoArt you have to stay in YIC for 4 years.. I’m in Underwood Division so I’ll be moving to Sinchon Campus next semester (:

      • Tiff says:

        Thanks for answering 🙂

        Was wondering how old are you now? How old are most of the students at YIC?

        Also, does everyone know how to speak Korean at YIC?

        🙂

        • studyinkorea says:

          I’m 20 years old this year. Most of the freshman here are 19 years old, but we do have international students who are older (there are 2 who are born in 1990 in my batch) so there’s really no such thing as age limit. Or if you are looking at the other majors in YIC such as pre-dentistry or pre-medicine, there are more who are older than us. I heard that Yonsei College of Medicine is really prestigious (the best in Korea actually) so many people study really hard and try many times to get in, so by the time they enter they may be older than the usual college-going age..

          About the Korean issue, again it depends on the major you’re looking at. Everyone in UIC speaks English. However, students in Open Major, Pharmacy, Pre-Med, Pre-Dentistry, Engineering don’t speak English too well, and they usually converse in Korean so if you have classes in YIC that are not UIC-exclusive then you might face some problems in class discussions. I can also say that only 30% of the staff here in YIC (whether school admin office or banks etc) speak English, so you’ll still need your Korean friends to help. But in any case the English-speaking situation in terms of infrastructure is improving (it’s better than last year) so you don’t have to worry too much (: After all, I’m still surviving well here xD

    • Johnny says:

      Thanks very much for your information it’s really helped me a lot! I have a question about UIC majors, I was wondering if students are allowed to transfer or change their major once they’ve been enrolled? Thanks very much! Have a good day!

  2. Tiff says:

    Do you take Korean lessons then? Or you know how to speak? Also, what Bachelor’s Degree will you be graduating with? 🙂

    • studyinkorea says:

      Non-Koreans have to take 2 semesters of Korean classes as part of their course credits for graduation requirements, unless your Korean is good enough to be exempted. So yep I’m taking Korean class now (: I’ll be graduating with Bachelor of Arts degree, most likely in International Studies if I’m majoring in that (: If you’re interested in LSBT (Life Sciences and Biotechnology) it’d be a Bachelor of Science..

      • Tiff says:

        Oh I see 🙂

        Just wondering, how come you chose South Korea Yonsei University for your degree instead of countries like Australia or USA or UK? 🙂

        • studyinkorea says:

          Haha it’s a really looooong story ><

          I didn't want to stay in my country cos I didn't like their system of teaching the humanities and social sciences. I was considering options such as US, but they were really expensive and I wasn't sure if I could get a scholarship. I also preferred an Asian country since my interest was in Northeast Asia. I was considering Japan actually, and I've never thought of Korea until a professor from UIC came to my high school for recruitment. I realised that it was a pretty good opportunity since I could speak Chinese and Japanese and I figured that learning Korean would help a lot if I wanted to focus my future career in this region. It also helped that I was into Super Junior and Kpop xD

          But what really made me decide was the International Studies major they offered. I didn't want to just do Political Science, and this major suited me nicely because it is broad (includes International Relations, International Economics and International Law). I was also interested in the idea of the liberal arts college as providing me with an education I would really look forward instead of just studying for the sake of studying so yeah…

          Haha sorry for the long response, there were just too many reasons for my choice xD

  3. Tiff says:

    Actually what’s the difference between Yonsei and UIC? UIC is part of Yonsei right? Is UIC like easier to get in and is it actually as recognised as Yonsei University?

    Thanks for taking your time to answer! I’m interested in UIC as well 🙂

    • studyinkorea says:

      UIC is a college in Yonsei University. It’s like in Yonsei there’s college of Medicine, college of Music, College of Pharmacy, etc, and UIC is just one of the colleges (: So yeah it’s recognized and Yonsei, and has the advantage of having good English abilities..

      Actually sunbaes told me that it’s easier for international students to enter than for Korean students, as in the criteria for Korean students is much stricter.. One reason is UIC wants diversity so they want to attract more foreigners (and they did succeed in creating this diversity compared to other international divisions in Korea), and another is because of Yonsei’s prestige in Korea creating much competition among Korean students thus the stricter criteria due to the competition.. However that’s not to say that any international students who apply will get in easily, because they’ve been tightening the criteria for international admissions as well (I heard stories from many people who applied) and so don’t worry about UIC just accepting anyone just because they’re foreigners. There’s still a standard set (:

      • Tiff says:

        How about the cert that you graduate with? Does it say ‘Yonsei University’ or ‘Underwood International College’?

        Also, the people you hang out with are the non-Koreans or Koreans? Cause I heard of many stories about the overseas Koreans being arrogant and tend to hang out among themselves. I know it’s a stereotype :/ but do you feel left out or sth? 🙂

        • studyinkorea says:

          It would say Yonsei University, Underwood International College. Just like other colleges in Yonsei eg Yonsei University, College of Medicine (smth like that :D)

          Hmm the Koreans I’ve met here (whether overseas or not) are really really nice people. I’ve made many Korean friends here in UIC (:

          There are some international students who hang out with the Koreans, but for myself I hang out more with my friends who are non-Koreans.. It’s not because they are Koreans and we’re not; they don’t exclude us or anything. It’s just that they share the same culture so it’s easier to click among other Koreans for them.. Like even in school in your own country you would have your own group of friends who you share similar interests to right? Over here it’s the same, maybe because they have a common culture so they have common interests and so become closer… (:

          I think it’s a natural thing, and unintentional. I think it’s fine because I do still talk to my Korean friends and we can work on projects etc together, but it’s just that I’m closer to my friends who happen to be non-Koreans and they’re closer to their friends who happen to be Koreans… So don’t worry too much about this! (:

          The only time I feel sort of left out is when there are general Yonsei events etc, because then it would be in Korean. But I can always ask my friends to help me translate 😀

  4. Tiff says:

    So you get to interact/meet with the Korean students from the Sinchon campus or other colleges often?

    Also, are your lessons daily from Monday to Friday with a fixed timetable or you get to choose like which module to take?

    I would love to attend UIC as well but I’m not sure if I can get in and the tuition fees are pretty expensive as well 😦

    • studyinkorea says:

      While we’re on Songdo campus there is still some sort of distance with Sinchon campus, but sunbaes are making a lot of efforts to come down to Songdo campus and involve us… I see improvements from last year ^^ We have Open Majors, Pre-Med, Pre-Dentistry, Pharmacy and Global Engineering and even KLI in Songdo and since we’re a residential college and tight-knitted community I can assure you that you will get to interact a lot with other colleges while you’re at YIC, maybe even more than when you move to Sinchon? You’ll take some classes together and you’ll see them around, and your roommate might be from another college too!

      We can choose the courses we want to take so in other words we arrange our own timetable (: So if you want to pack all your classes from Mon-Wed then play from Thurs-Sun you can do that too haha xD

      Good luck in applications!! Are you applying for Spring 2013? (: There are also scholarships available, one of them is based on admissions results..

  5. Jessica says:

    Hi my name is Jessica and I will be graduating in June of 2013 from a high school in the US. I visited Korea last summer through a scholarship program and stayed at Yonsei (Shinchon campus) for the two weeks I was in Korea. Now that I will start applying to universities I have been thinking about whether or not to apply to UIC but I really have no idea at this point. There is just so much to consider which is why I’ve been wanting to speak to a student that currently attends UIC and I was lucky enough to come upon your blog. If you wouldn’t mind could I email you with some questions or add you on FB or some other social networking site?

  6. alltheloveabove says:

    I just want to thank you so, so much for the wonderful information and dedication in your blog! I’m a Korean junior who’s been living in Africa for 13 years now, and I am determined to get into UIC in two years. Do you think UIC is the best international college? I’m attending an International School here, and living abroad makes me more familiar and comfortable with English- and I love the vibe give with multi cultures. Also, do you think I can get any benefits from living abroad for so long? Does it help to go to the summer college just to get the hang of it?
    lalala. Your blog is amazing. Thanks so much! 🙂 🙂

  7. Mariana says:

    I just found your blog and…i would really love to talk to you >_< i'm thinking on studying international relations or something related since i love to learn about cultures and languages. Some months ago i found UIC page and i liked the diversity of the campus as well as the opportunity to study abroad but i would like to talk with someone that is already studying there, because, since i'm already changing my major and college i need to be sure it's the right decision. Would you mind to send me an email to contact you?
    Thank you so much for your post! ^^

  8. Michelle says:

    Hi, could you tell me if it is possible to get into medicine? )’: is it taught in English? Im from SG, biomedical engineering currently but would like to study medicine. if it is taught in English, how would the entry requirements be like? Please, if possible drop me an email on these questions. illusionland@live.com

    PS: im taking basic korean in my current polytechnic too. So PROBABLY, by the time i graduate, i can handle basic korean in my daily life.

  9. zee says:

    hi, nice article… i’m indonesian person who like to enter international studies there, can u help me how i can register there?

  10. jocylin 조슬린 says:

    Hi i was wondering if international students can study full time there?. Like graduate and completing your degrees and stuff? Also if you know Korean can you study at the Sinchon campus? I want to study international relations and political science, as well as minor or at least take French, German, and Chinese at the same time? I’d like to be a foreign service officer 🙂 감사합니다! 🙂

    • jocylin 조슬린 says:

      Also I’m a full IB (international baccloreate) student (currently a sophomore) so would that help me get in at all? I’m really curious 🙂 I’m trying to figure out what colleges I want to apply to that fit my needs and so far i have Hawaii Pacific university, university of southern California, and the university of Washington. . And based upon my research, yonsei seems like a good fit 🙂

      • studyinkorea says:

        From what I know UIC definitely accepts IB, but for the general Yonsei track I’m not so sure.. But I think as long as you’re an international student, taking IB should not be a problem (:

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hi! Yes, international students can do their full-time undergraduate studies here at UIC (I’m one of the 200 odd international students we have here ^^), or Yonsei for that matter. Studying in Sinchon or not does not depend on your knowledge of Korean though.. It’s just that if you know Korean then you can choose to join the regular Yonsei programme which teaches in Korean. All freshmen will spend their first year in the international campus in Songdo anyway ^^ And for the languages you’ll be able to take classes both in Songdo (Chinese) and Sinchon (all 3 of them) ^^

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hi! I’m sorry I don’t really know about IELTS so I can’t really give any advice on that, but good scores for English exams are important, since the entire programme is in English. I would say that UIC is becoming more competitive as the years go by, and so admission scholarships are getting competitive too. But as long as you have good scores, good portfolio and demonstrate sufficiently that you are suitable for the programme, admission would be easy (: It’s also difficult for me to say since I’m not the admissions officer and I’m not on the admissions committee too, and I know that it sounds pretty generic but yeah. If you have any more questions or specifics feel free to ask ^^

      • hayashiyukiko says:

        Thank you so much for your reply. Recently I have taken the IELTS test and just knew it yesterday. I am really disappointed now. I thought that i could get 7.5 or even higher but in reality, just 7 =___= so i decided that i should transfer there instead of applying as a freshman. Do you think transfering to UIC is less competitive than applying as a freshman?

        I thought my GPA would be 3.2 or 3.3 (i dont really remember >__<). And i will finish my first year at Troy university in a couple of weeks.

        Just obsessed in UIC a lot for a year 😥

        • studyinkorea says:

          For UIC, we only accept transfer students who have completed 2 years of study in their former university… So if you decide to transfer you would have to study for another year in your current university before you can apply to UIC as a transfer student.

          I feel that the intake of transfer students are based on quality, not like there is a quota to meet or anything. I really have no idea which would be more competitive since I don’t have much experience with transfers, but the benefit of transfer is that your credits from your current university can be transferred to so it doesn’t go to waste. It really depends on yourself eventually, whether you want to keep the credits and not waste a year restarting as a freshman, or you want to start again maybe in a different major as a freshman.

          There are no universities in the top 10 that I know of that has a college of Public Relations, but Yonsei, Korea University, Sungkyunkwan, Sogang, Kyunghee, Hanyang, Chung-Ang do offer Media/Mass Communications-related majors. Also, almost all of the top 10 universities have a Business College and Marketing is usually classified under that. Most of them would require Korean proficiency, unless you are looking at global business programmes.

  11. Alarice says:

    Hello! I was thinking of applying to UIC but im not sure how recognised the cert is. Is it like just recognised in korea, or internationally recognised (eg .singapore)? Also, for the dorms, is it like available when during holidays as well? Anddd around (roughly) how much do you spend like..monthly for living expenses? Heheh really appreciate your reply^^

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello Alarice,

      The degree is definitely recognized in Korea (Yonsei is like top 3/4 in Korea) and for Singapore, it really depends on your major. If it is some major that requires standardization eg medicine then there might be some problems, but for me doing international studies there is no fixed barrier at least (it’s not like if I try to apply for a job at MFA they are going to dismiss me simply because I graduated not from NUS or smth). If the employer is reasonable, they must know that the university name is not everything.

      For the dorms, it is available during holidays, but you would have to apply and pay for it. I spend about 800,000~1 million won a month including accommodation, transport, food, etc (:

  12. Patricia says:

    Hi, I am Cuban I have started an application process to get in through UIC because I’m really interesting in Techno Art program, and I would like to know what covers an Underwood full scholarship, by the way, your blog is very good, is difficult found an information that provides details like you have written, so thank you.

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello Patricia, UIC offers admissions scholarship for outstanding students, and it will cover either full tuition or half tuition. Otherwise there is also merit scholarship available based on the GPA of the student every semester, or the needs-based scholarship based on the financial situation of the student (:

  13. Hanisah says:

    Hi, im 16 this year and i’m waiting for my N level and planning to take nursing course next year in ite for 3 years, do they accept ite students? Or do i have to finish my sec 5 then to poly?

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello! The eligibility is for high school graduates, so I guess ITE can be considered the equivalent of high school. But I cannot confirm this because so far we only had JC and poly students accepted! You might want to check with the admissions office to get a confirmed answer! (:

  14. Soojin Cho says:

    Hi! I’m in third year of high school in Korea right now. I’m preparing for UIC and I just wrote one of the questions in the application form. 🙂
    I just wanted to ask you a question. I heard that there are many foreign students in UIC. But you said there are only 30 foreigners out of 200 students.
    I thought half of the UIC students were foreigners.
    So… Could you tell me more about foreigners in UIC in total??
    Thanks so much!

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello! I’m glad to hear that you’re applying to UIC! ^^

      I think I have to clarify that 30 out of 200 was for my batch! After my batch there were many more foreigners, I think in the year after mine there were 40 and this fall there are close to 70 international students accepted. But it also depends on which field you choose, most international students are in the Underwood field and HASS also has international students from ASD and TAD. But these numbers are only for international students with no relation to Korea. Actually there are many overseas Koreans who have lived outside Korea all their lives and either have foreign nationality or really culturally think of themselves as American or Uzbek or even Singaporean. I’ve personally met some of them like the ones from Singapore, and they are as good as any local. I think numbers are just a result of rigid categorizing (since Korean government has the regulation that as long as one of your parents has Korean nationality you are classified as Korean in admissions), but it hides these group of students who are equally international as the foreign students. Their perspectives and world views were shaped by the countries they lived in, and so they bring to class this perspective as well and adds on to the diverse points of view in class discussions.

      • Soojin Cho says:

        Thank you for such a detailed response!! I didn’t expect to get it so soon!
        I just love to talk to people who come from different background or think differently from me.
        As you might be my potential 선배, what kind of ability do you think is important in studying in UIC?
        By the way, I really like your blog.
        I love how you organized everything that’s related to studying in Korea. 🙂

        • studyinkorea says:

          Apologies for the late response! I was caught up in work towards the end of my internship and back here in Korea too ><

          I would say that critical thinking and writing is very important here in UIC. Professors want to see that you are fully engaged when reading the texts and after your own analysis come up with your opinion on the issue or the text. As we are a liberal arts college, writing is also very important and the professors take great care to work with us on how to improve our writings. But I think as long as you show potential and a willingness to learn, your chances of acceptance will be high even if you think that your critical thinking or writing skills are not very good. Many professors say that they would rather take someone who is enthusiastic about learning and train up their writing skills etc later, than someone who already has good writing but doesn't participate in class etc.

          Thank you!!! If you have comments on how to improve the blog (layout, content etc) just feel free to let me know!^^

  15. julzzzz says:

    Hiiii wow this overview was super helpful!! I still have some questions about the school so I sent you an email that I found in one of the comments!! Thanksss

  16. LiShan says:

    Hi, I’m a fellow Singaporean planning my future studies now. I’m considering UIC as my main choice cause of the lower school fees and distance as compared to UK. Is the degree offered by UIC recognised in Singapore? Because I’m thinking of applying for Culture and Design Management Major… And their entry requirements have changed quite a fair bit as what I’ve remembered from last year.

  17. Gliezelle says:

    Hello! Thanks for this entry and for constantly replying to us! Haha

    Did you or anyone you know take courses at both Sinchon and Songdo campuses in one semester? How was it like? I’m thinking I might have to do that if I can’t get into certain business classes, and I want to hear about any experiences you have had or known about.

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hi, not sure if this is too late but yes, people do take classes in both campuses in one semester. There’s shuttle bus between the campuses and you just have to plan your timetable wisely (some do one day in sinchon, one day in songdo etc). Hope it helped!

  18. angie says:

    Hey just searching about yonsei and come a cross with your blog. I doubt that you still check this site, but i hope you are bcs i have a question that i want to ask.

    Do you get scholarships or a students loans? And i’m 20 this year, and i dropped out high school bcs of some reason and i’m thinking about taking an exam where i can get high school diploma next year and go to yonsei, do you think it’s possible?

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hi, you can definitely apply as long as you have a high school certificate, but scholarships might be a problem.. Also Korea doesn’t offer loans for foreign residents so you might have to get a loan from your home country. Ultimately you might have to consider if the opportunity cost for you going all the way to Korea is worth it, or you could also consider doing college in your home country and transfer/do an exchange!

Leave a comment