FAQ about Undergraduate Studies in Korea

Hello all! Hope everyone is having a good summer break!

As incoming freshmen for Fall 2014 are receiving acceptance letters and preparing to come to Korea, it signals the start of another cycle of applications for graduating high school seniors!

It’s been a little past 3 years since I’ve started this blog, and I’m approaching my final year of undergraduate studies in Korea. In the past 3 years, I’ve been asked many questions, and as the workload in college got heavier and heavier (as you might guess from my lack of posts), I have accumulated a great backlog of emails last semester (my busiest semester yet) which I guiltily cleared and replied a week or two before finals (Sorry to those of you who had to wait so long ><).

To make things a little more efficient, ie you being able to get information more quickly and not dependent on how busy I am, I’ve decided to compile a list of FAQ and will be setting that up in a new section on the blog! I will post again when I create the new section (:

In the meantime, one of my best friends in Korea who I got to know 3 years ago through this blog has created a youtube video on FAQ about undergraduate studies in Korea!

The questions that she answered in her video include:

1. Why do you study in Korea?
2. Why are you not in Seoul? Why Wonju?
3. What is your major? Difference between UIC & EIC?
4. What are the academic requirements?
5. Do you need to know Korean to study in Korea?
6. Is it difficult to study in Korea?

I have also introduced her blog before, because I get many many questions about life as a student in Korea which I don’t always have time to update about (I’m more of a boring person so I usually stick to writing about studies and applications :P) but she updates regularly about her life in Korea, and recently she’s involved in a group with Korean Tourism Organization and visiting many places in Korea so if you’re interested you should definitely take a look at her blog too!

Have fun preparing for those who are coming to Korea, and good luck to those who are preparing for applications! And you are always welcome to email or comment, and I promise to reply as soon as I can (:

6 thoughts on “FAQ about Undergraduate Studies in Korea

  1. Jodi says:

    Hi! I’m a Singaporean who recently graduated from a local polytechnic.

    Do you happen to know if diploma holders are eligible for Yonsei UIC’s scholarships? I’m asking as most overseas e.g. Australian unis do not offer scholarships to those who went through tertiary education.

    Would really appreciate it if you are able to help! Thanks in advance. 🙂

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello! The criteria for UIC scholarships is not restricted to whether you came from JC or poly. So you’re definitely eligible, and the admission scholarship will be awarded based on your application (documents, interview).

  2. Aaron says:

    Hi, I’ve just graduated from poly in Singapore but will be serving 2 Years of national service. If i were to apply to Yonsei University, am i able to differ my studies till i’ve completed NS?
    Hope to hear from you soon! 🙂

    • studyinkorea says:

      Hello! What I know for sure you can do is to first enroll and register as a student, then you can take leave of absences for up to 6 semesters. Military service period for Korean males are probably not included in these 6 semesters though, so they might be able to apply the same rule for you. In any case you should definitely email the admissions office to ask if this is possible for you!

Leave a Reply

