Summer@UIC – Merit Scholarship available!

So back in February I made a post about Summer@UIC, a summer programme for high school students to experience life in Korea, college life in general, and the Korean culture.

Today I just received news that there will be merit scholarship provided for outstanding applicants who may not have had the resources to come for this programme! It is really great news, because this scholarship would cover the tuition fees, and so you would only have to pay for air ticket, accommodation and food.

For those of you who were concerned about financial issues, don’t lose hope! Apply for the scholarship and you might be able to come to Korea this summer! (Application closes June 7 so be sure to hurry!)

Just to reiterate my point about this programme (if you don’t want to click the link to the previous post I wrote), I think it’s a really great opportunity to experience life in Korea, and specifically college life. Of course you won’t have to be obliged to come to UIC for college, but where else can you get an opportunity to visit Korea, experience Korean college life, Korean culture, meet new friends from all over the world, etc and now probably with a subsidized price? If I were still in high school, I would really grab on to this opportunity to experience for myself what Korea is like. It will also help you a lot in deciding whether to come here for college in future. I truly believe in direct experience, because no matter how much I describe in detail about my life here, it is only up to you to imagine it and the experience would differ for everyone. So I would definitely recommend coming for this programme, especially since it’s in a school setting and not just a tourist perspective.

For more information, you can go to their website:

UIC Summer website – Merit Scholarship Available!

Summer@UIC Facebook Page (You can see some photos of Songdo and some other fun details as well ^^)

Unfortunately I won’t be staying for summer this year, but be rest assured that you will have great Residential Advisers taking care of you for the three-week period! I was hoping to join the programme but well, other plans cropped up back at home. But it would be really great if some of you come to Korea and see for yourself what it’s like ^^

Also many apologies for late email replies. I’m trying very hard to keep up with the many many emails I receive every week. And to the readers who have been accepted to UIC (or other colleges in Korea), congratulations!! I’m sure all of you have put in a lot of effort in your applications and I hope to see you in Korea soon!!^^

Leave a Reply

